Within the ERA4Health Partnership, the Management Board is, amongst others (e.g. Ethics and RRI), being supported by a Strategic Advisory Board (STAB).

To be able to provide strategic advice on a broad range of topics, the STAB is composed of representatives from societies and organisations in the European Research Area (ERA) and beyond, in the fields of Prevention and Public Health strategies, Nutrition and Lifestyles related-diseases, Cardiovascular Diseases, Nano and other advanced health technologies for disease prevention, diagnostics and therapy and Investigator Initiated Clinical Studies (IICS). The STAB also contains societal stakeholders such as representatives of patient organizations. Through the life course of ERA4Health and based on the decision of the MB, other Health thematics may be tackled.

A core STAB of ten member organisations is established. Find out more about each member by clicking on their name below.

Strategic Avisory Board Members:


BioMed AllianceWilfried Ellmeier
EHN – European Heart NetworkBirgit Beger
ESC – European Society of CardiologyHugo Katus
ETPN – European Technology Platform on NanomedicineAlexandre Ceccaldi (Chair)
Raymond Schiffelers
EUHA – European University Hospital AllianceLynn Seveke
Albert Barberà
EUPATI – European Patient’s Academy on Therapeutic InnovationRichard Ballerand
EuroHealthNet – European Partnership for Health, Equity and WellbeingSamuele Tonello
Caroline Costongs
FENS – Federation of European Nutrition SocietiesPhilip Calder
ISBNPA – International Society of Behavioral Nutrition and Physical ActivityAntonio Labisa Palmeira
Greet Cardon